

Oversight and Goverance Chief Executive's Department Plymouth City Council Ballard House Plymouth PLI 3BJ

Please ask for Democratic Advisor T 01752 668000 E democraticsupport@plymouth.gov.uk www.plymouth.gov.uk/democracy Published 18 February 2021

Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Friday 26 February 2021 10.00 am Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

Members:

Councillor Sam Davey, Chair Councillors Downie, Evans OBE, James, Kelly and Murphy.

Members are invited to attend the above meeting to consider the items of business overleaf.

This meeting will be broadcast and will be available on-line for playback once the meeting has concluded. By joining the meeting, Councillors are consenting to being filmed during the meeting and to the use of the recording for the online viewing.

For further information on webcasting, attending Council meetings and how to engage in the democratic process please follow this link http://www.plymouth.gov.uk/accesstomeetings

Tracey Lee

Chief Executive

Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Agenda

I. To Note the Appointment of the Chair

To note the appointment of the Chair of the Lord Mayor Selection Committee for the current municipal year.

2. Apologies

To receive apologies for non-attendance submitted by Committee Members.

3. Declarations of Interest

Members will be asked to make any declarations of interest in respect of items on this agenda.

4. Minutes (Pages I - 2)

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 14 February 2020.

5. Lord Mayoralty 2021/22

To recommend to City Council a suitable person to fill the office of Lord Mayor for the year 2021/22.

Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Friday 14 February 2020

PRESENT:

Councillor Sam Davey, in the Chair. Councillors Deacon, Murphy, Penberthy (substitute for Councillor Evans OBE) and Ms Watkin (substitute for Councillor Downie).

Apologies for absence: Councillors Downie and Evans OBE.

Also in attendance: Andrew Loton (Head of Governance, Performance and Risk), Elizabeth Olver (Civic Support Co-ordinator) and Helen Prendergast (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 3.00 pm and finished at 3.05 pm.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

5. Note the Appointment of the Chair

The Committee noted the appointment of Councillor Sam Davey as the Chair for the municipal year 2019/20.

6. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by Councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

7. Minutes

The Committee <u>agreed</u> that the minutes of the meeting held on 19 February 2019 are confirmed as a correct record.

8. Lord Mayoralty 2020/21

The Committee sought nominations for the Lord Mayoralty 2020/21. Having been nominated by Councillor Murphy and seconded by Councillor Deacon, it was agreed unanimously to extend a cordial invitation to Councillor Chris Mavin to accept the office of Lord Mayor for the following municipal year.

Councillors waited upon Councillor Chris Mavin who, on arrival, expressed his appreciation at the nomination which he was delighted to accept.

Agreed that it is unanimously recommended to City Council that it approves the appointment of Councillor Chris Mavin as Lord Mayor for the 2020/21 municipal year.

